Garfie

Garfie

  • Thoroughbred Horse
  • loan
  • Yelverton, Devon
  • Registered : yes
  • Age : 23
  • Height : 16.3hh
  • Colour : Dark Bay
  • Owned For (Years): almost 10 years
  • Eligible For Vetting : yes
  • Requires Stabling : yes
  • Requires Resticted Grazing : no
  • Passport : Weatherbys Passport (Number to follow)
  • The successful applicant will need to pay a donation of £100 plus an £50 standard fee to Horses 4 Homes upon completion.
  • Applicants must live within Ideally to stay in Devon or Cornwall miles of the sellers town of residence to apply.

Description

Garfie is a beautiful 16.3hh ex racer with an amazing temperament.  He is 23 and ive had him almost 10 years and this is the hardest thing i have ever had to do.  He is shod, up to date with jabs and teeth.  Garf is good to load, shoe, clip and with vets.  He is on 2 Danilon sachets per day due to arthritis in his near side rear fetlock.  This boy is so loving and really thrives from human attention and affection – he doesnt have a nasty bone in his body and he is especially gentle with children and is patient with them.

He likes his stable especially during hot weather so the routine that during the Summer – stabled during the day and out in the eveing and the Winter he is out during the day and stabled in the evenings.

Garfie is shod as he has typical tb feet and I have him shod every 7/8 weeks – if he loses a shoe he gets very footsore but does keep his shoes on well

Problems

I would prefer Garfie to enjoy his life as a companion due to the arthritis even though he is currently ridden out once in a while which he enjoys and always behaves well, he has never bucked, reared or bolted but although 23 he behaves as a youngster, can jig/jog etc.  He can be pulled up easily and looks after his rider. Garfie will come with all of his rugs and anything I have for him if needed.

Health Issues

Garfie is an ex- racer and now 23 he has arthritis which is in his nearside rear fetlock and is on 2 sachets of Danilon per day.  He is up to date with his vaccinations and teeth.  In the Summer he wears a full fly mask and rug as his nose can be sensitive and I use sunscreen.

Ideal Home

The ideal home for Garfie would be as a companion in a small/private yard where he has access to good grazing and a stable as he needs to be out of the heat of Summer and out of the cold and nasty weather in the Winter. He will need company and has been kept with both mares and geldings but can get a little anxious if left alone. Garfie prefers smaller herds and yards and thrives from them. He needs an owner who will give him loads of attention and love/fuss as he thrives from this, and enjoys being groomed etc

Vet Details

Hallam Equine Vets, Saltash, Cornwall 01752 858939


Location

This content has been restricted to logged in users only. Please login to view this content.